Drawing so much my hands are sore! Maze-ing Maze 24


Maze-ing Maze 24 

Look for the good!

Support me in my goal to self publish my childrens book http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/maze-ing/m-aze-b-cs-and-1-2-3s

Maze 24: Thanks for all the comments to yesterdays post!  Its a Maze-ing part of life to be inspired by and cared for by strangers!  But again thanks each comment, like and visit means a lot.

The maze is Africa as a conga drum and the face represents the pain of slavery.  This is a remake of a past maze on a dresser bottom that I found in the alley last week.

I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about life lately and the “process” of things.  My middle son plays soccer currently in his second season.  In five games this year hes scored 18 goals and totally dominated on the field.  And yet its only his second season.  I remember when we first started practicing on soccer he could barely walk with the ball.  (every summer m-f I take my boys to the park for 2 hours to play and practice)  Now he has the ability to shake kids out of their shoes.  What did he do? Daily practice.  He worked his butt off to get good and it paid off.

I remember in 08 my wife and I went to a arts festival and she made the comment that she would be back in the fair the next year with stick figures after we saw a few “questionable” artists.  At the time I did nothing more with drawing than the occasional doddle.  And I’m not bragging but look at me now! In less than 4 years I developed my own style, continue to get better and very close to making a living from it.

I guess the point I’m trying to make (besides making myself feel better) is that with constant action nothing takes long to get good at.   And in some cases if you have enough passion and drive to excel at and potentially master.  As a writer I had spent a good 5-6 years searching for an illustrator for my work when I could have easily (and did) learned to draw my books.

I think that too many times we pay so much attention to the hell of life that we forget to see what is right in front of us.  It has been so hard for me to see the good in myself this summer when that’s all I should be focusing on right now the good.  What good in your life should you be focusing on?

~ by mazemangriot on October 18, 2012.

9 Responses to “Drawing so much my hands are sore! Maze-ing Maze 24”

  1. nice. keep it up man. love to hear your upbeatness. (Is that a word?)
    x
    a

  2. Good in my life: Great friends, just landed a second job that will teach me what I need to know for the future. A great landlord, Freelance work. A gorgeous yard in Sacramento, although the Tree guys are here right now, and it will take a while to clean up. And I stumbled on the Mazeman who reminds me to never ever take anything for granted and to keep working.

  3. Happy you’re appreciating the good in life and came out of the dark into the sun. It’s the constant change of ephemeral existance that gives life meaning and makes it good.

  4. Love it! You are so great at what you do.

  5. wow! the maze has been growing real well..keep it going man!

FEED BAG

 
