Maze 18 kinda NO SOLICITING!


Maze 18 kinda NO SOLICITING!

 

Find a way!

 

Maze 18:  The other day when I was selling my art door to door I came to a guys house who let me have it.  He stated that the school I went to must have not taught me how to read and that my art teachers must have failed to teach me that you can’t sell art.  I failed to see his no soliciting sign that he had posted  , so I guess I deserved it.

As I walked away I thought back to school and remembered being taught that artists could only survive if they got a job teaching it.  This sent my mind into overdrive.

First thought improve and create a no solicitation sign.  So when I go to doors and they say they are not interested I can offer them a sign of my art that will stop further people.  Yes a door to door salesman who sells signs that stop door to door selling!

Second change the philosophy that artists have to teach to make money.  So I decided to tackle that challenge with two tactics.  I will take a portion of the proceeds from the no soliciting signs and seek a sponsor that will help me create art kits (sketchbook, colored pencils, pencil, and sharpener) that I can give out free to kids.  In addition I will offer free art classes for kids on a weekly basis.

Anyway I created a few different versions of the sign to offer, a sleeping baby sign and also started creating a line of just signs that people may want to put somewhere around their house.  I’m selling each laminated door print for $10 and will test them out this afternoon for the first time.

~ by mazemangriot on September 25, 2012.

14 Responses to “Maze 18 kinda NO SOLICITING!”

  1. How creative you are!!! Know you are already successful in your endeavors!! Jay

  2. Great job of taking his negative thoughts and making them into your own positive, cool ideas feedback!
    “.”

  3. Great ideas! Looking forward to hearing your success stories.

  4. great reverse-psychology there!

  5. LOL, What great story. You are one of the most positive people I know!!

  6. I love how you turned this into a positive 🙂
    Keep up the great work!

  7. What a great idea to make signs into art! Going to post this one on my facebook, these signs would not only make for really cool original gifts, they are just better than the regular old store bought ones. Spreading the word about your customized signs!

  8. Amazing creativity! You truly are an artist. Where there is no way, an artist creates one. Your dreams will be actuallized and you really don’t have to condescend to conventionality. I love your courage and uniqueness. The fact that it is general opinion to only feed from arts as a teacher, does not make it true. You will succeed! Keep up the good work.

  9. Some people must be able to make money out of art without teaching. I mean… artists? They exist. And like they say about the lottery, It Could Be You.

    I like your signs – I like the Penrose Triangles even better…

    Regarding door-to-door selling, maybe sometimes it doesn’t work because people feel pressured and so don’t buy something that they might have bought if they’d been able to browse without a hungry-looking artist breathing down their neck. I tend to avoid the whole problem by hiding behind the sofa if I think someone is going to try to sell me something. But you must have a lot of guts to do it! (Sell stuff, not hide. Hiding takes no guts whatsoever.)

    Art classes… if it were me (which of course it isn’t) I’d be levying a small charge. People don’t value what they get for free, and you don’t want to be used as free babysitting. If people pay, they are more likely to respect what they’re getting (and you’ll need money to buy all the pencils and things). Cynical, me?

    I have an opinion on everything, and you are quite free to ignore them all. Except the one about the Penrose Triangles.

    • Thanks for the feedback! I actually was trying to charge for classes and couldn’t get anyone to sign up. So now my new mission was to teach kids period and focus more on the belief of daily practice leads to being a professional and a professional can make a living from their art.

  10. What a great way to turn lemons into lemonade! Real creative thinking–not enough of that in this world! And by the way, thank you for “liking” pendrifter. d:)

FEED BAG

 
