Maze-ing Maze 361


Maze-ing Maze 361

 

“I will say in addition to this that there is a physical difference between the white and black races which I believe will forever forbid the two races living together on terms of social and political equality. And inasmuch as they cannot so live, while they do remain together there must be the position of superior and inferior, and I, as much as any other man, am in favor of having the superior position assigned to the white race.” Abraham Lincoln

Maze 361:  I have a new series of art that I’m working on (non mazes) based around the word nigger/nigga.  I’m so tired of people calling me that with their hands out in friendship only to defend their right to use it even though it offends me.  I realize the new racisim is coming from a large group of people who think that they are not racisist because some of their best friends are niggers.   After the last incident on Tuesday I came home and started brainstorming ideas to express my anger with  art.  I chose the quote because it showcases how people will say that they are with you and we are all people but I will share them on another site when they are finished so that I don’t get this on shut down.  But they are nothing nice and they definitely will probably get the blog shut down. 

~ by mazemangriot on June 23, 2012.

6 Responses to “Maze-ing Maze 361”

  1. Many speak without awareness. Many do not realize the weight of words. I find the word stupid, in ANY context to be quite derogatory. Once we go deeper into cruel words with history, these words hold nothing but pain. A person can empower them personally, but no matter how many friends you have or have not, cruel words used on anyone but yourself are cruel words, even on self.

    I hope I get to see your process. And remember, how other’s see you is not truly you.

  2. We all come together with the imprint of various cultures, family education and social groups. That is, what brings the colours to the rainbow. Bringing it together through our hearts means to express love.

    It never occurred to me that something like the colour of skin (or sexual orientation, or religion) tells me anything about the true heart of a person.

  3. I loved your creativity since I have been following you… 🙂

  4. Warren, here is the link to the book that you add to your site if you want.
    http://www.amazon.com/The-Miracle-Almost-Missed-ebook/dp/B008CDPRSW/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1340466897&sr=8-2&keywords=the+miracle+i+almost+missed#_

  5. My best friend is my best friend. I don’t qualify her or disqualify her by her skin color. Yes, she and I have different cultural backgrounds, and yet we are both exposed to and grew up with each other’s, so that I want to go see Madea or Steve Harvey with her, and she wants me to go see Rock of Ages with her too! We have no qualms talking about the differences we see in each other and the world around us because we are united in our persons and in our sisterhood in Christ. That’s what draws me to her and she to me.

    I hope you didn’t mean by that Lincoln quote that every person who says they believe in equality really doesn’t. I agree with the woman above that true equality is when each color of the rainbow is appreciated as is but can also create a harmony when in conjunction with the others around it. God did not intend us all to be “the same”, cultures are facets of his glory. The need to “dominate” is the brokeness in mankind – because man by himself is not kind.

    • Thanks for the comments. No I wasn’t saying that all persons who believe in equality really don’t. I was showcasing a quote of a person who Americans place on a pedastal because of the Emancipation Proclimaiton when he hated Black people. What I try to explain to the people that I meet who feel I’m so cool that they should be able to call me that word is that its still hateful and offends me.

FEED BAG

 
