Maze-ing Maze 347


Maze-ing Maze 347

Architecture should speak of its time and place, but yearn for timelessness.
Frank Gehry

Maze 347: Today i want to discuss history.  Not the world but personal history and the meaning it has to our dreams.  As I mentioned 200 something mazes ago, growing up  I wanted to be an architect. But a broken bridge (a bridge fell in and killed the drivers under it just outside of Colorado Springs and my drafting teacher used that to explain how our little mistakes could cost lives), make dislike for being exact and tough teacher gave me the impression that I should stop.

After one class on drafting I left it alone to pursue other areas of interest.  Until that point I would imagine designing a house of my own.  I would even go to the library and look at magazines to find the right look.  Anyway I was really into it.

And now years later I’m 300 days deep into what many people have said are architectural drawings I find myself being drawn back into the field. The other day I was at the library I checked out a documentary on artist/architect Frank Gehry.  If you have seen any of his designs they are what I would like to accomplish on paper.  From an architecture standpoint many of his building look as though they are impossible to build.
Nevertheless, his story and style inspired me, especially hearing that one of his drafting teachers told him he was in the wrong field.  Thinking back to my past and what I’m doing artistically now I can’t help but wonder was that the field I was supposed to be in.  Although I know  for a fact I don’t want to go back to school to learn the field I would like to design a house of my own.

~ by mazemangriot on June 2, 2012.

4 Responses to “Maze-ing Maze 347”

  1. Ok, so similar story. The first thing I remember wanting to be was an Architect. No kidding. I was dissuaded by the math. Then I wanted to be an interior designer, but a prettier, smarter, little girl in school wanted to be one too. This is when I was little and the world seemed small. I had been taking ballet since I was 5 and when I was 12, just before I went on “toe” I discovered I had artistic talent AND my chest grew over night and threw my balance all off. I have never seen a large chested ballerina, have you? but I wish I had kept up with the dancing.

    I have been employed on and off, mostly on in something related to art and design, or something visual. I think we choose a path to strengthen our souls. Now I am back in school about to graduate with an AA in Graphic Design. Hell of a bad time to be doing so at my age, but at least I have talent and an illustration degree to back it up.

    Now I know why your geometric representations of object in space are your strongest images! Go design that house. I do the same thing. 😉

  2. […] Maze a Day […]

  3. Wow what amazing drawings and let me tell you my blog is all about the brain and geniuses if your interested in the brain and other neuroscience you should check it out still a load more of content to come.

  4. You have been nominated for the Reader Appreciation Award! go to http://preacherswifeintheknow.wordpress.com for info!

FEED BAG

 
