Maze-ing Maze 338


Maze-ing Maze 338

"

“I think music in itself is healing. It’s an explosive expression of humanity. It’s something we are all touched by. No matter what culture we’re from, everyone loves music.” Author Unknown 

Maze 338: I did todays maze (and finished tomorrows maze)  because its Dylan’s birthday and I will be performing at a tribute.  7 years ago a friend of my started an annual tribute to him with the proceeds going to Denver Public Schools music programs.  I’ve performed at 4 of the 7 and really enjoy the entire experience.

The organizer thought that Dylan’s “Hurricane” would be a perfect fit for me as he wanted more of a spoken word/rap performance.  Not being able to sing but having a background in rap and spoken poetry I’ve created a pretty cool recreation of the song.

While drawing this maze I actually had an experience that I’ve seen on ghost shows.  While drawing the face portion of the maze my hand just took over and was drawing on its own.  That was weird because I don’t draw fast and my hand started drawing real fast and I could see many different options for pictures within the maze that my hand didn’t take.  That I wish I could have captured some of them.  That was the strangest thing that has ever happened to me.  I liked it!

I haven’t performed in a couple of years so I had to get the rust off so to speak.  I’m excited to also share my art during the show . I also hope to create a piece tonight called “Hurricane” during the course of the show.  I have no ideas of what to complete but I think the feeling and vibe of the live show will be inspiration enough to create a cool maze about Rubin “Hurricane” Carter.  And honestly hopefully someone will buy it and this maze as well as the others I bring.

~ by mazemangriot on May 24, 2012.

3 Responses to “Maze-ing Maze 338”

  1. This shit is damn ambitious. All of it, all of you. Just keep going nuts. For all of us.

  2. What great mazes the past few days!!! Know your rap will be a success! Keep up the great creativity, Jay

  3. I am in California smiling for you. Good job on the maze, good job on the performance. What a wonderful experience to have!

FEED BAG

 
