Maze-ing Maze 288


Maze-ing Maze 288

I've passed the point of no return. Do you know what that is, Beth? That's the point in a journey where it's longer to go back to the beginning. It's like when those astronauts got in trouble. I don't know, somebody messed up, and they had to get them back to Earth. But they had passed the point of no return. They were on the other side of the moon and were out of contact for like hours. Everybody waited to see if a bunch of dead guys in a can would pop out the other side. Well, that's me. I'm on the other side of the moon now and everybody is going to have to wait until I pop out. Micheal Douglas Falling Down

Maze 288: I apologize to all the visitors who visit for art and positive quotes.  I cannot get out of my funk and things just seem to get worse.  I chose the quote because today while working I got a ticket for $150 which is the same amount of money i made for today and tomorrows flyers. I had a melt down in the car and lets just say I was fortunate not to break my drawing hand.

Not the worst thing that can happen but just the spark I needed to lose it. Its getting hard for me to see the positive in my life and focus on appreciating what I have.  I feel like a cannon ball ready to explode.

I never noticed how long I could stay angry and hurt until doing this blog.  Now I feel like Im stressed and angry a lot of time lately.  After the car incident I came home and have felt physically sick since.  I know what the problem is and it requires me to say some things that are going to hurt and may push the situation pass the point of no return.

I realize that my silence in the matter is killing me.   My art has been a band-aid keeping my focus on a positive picture but now its starting to make me feel more open in confronting my issues.  I was so sad the other day I cannot believe that I survived it.  I haven’t been sad or that sad in years and now that mixed with anger is a horrible tasting cocktail that has me drunk with fear of the future.

This maze was me dropping the responsibilities of my life trying to reach for my goals.  Not a cool maze but the maze of my life.  I did maze out a positive ending in it though I did reach the star without breaking any of my responsibilities.

~ by mazemangriot on April 4, 2012.

14 Responses to “Maze-ing Maze 288”

  1. When you are very sad it’s hard to see any good, but in time the good will come back just as the astronauts in your quote did – honest i have been there.

  2. If you know the issue that is causing you to reach boiling point, release it, so your spirit can be free and at peace. Also, remember this is all but a dream. We are just bits of energy changing every second. Let the pain go and let the creativity in.

  3. I, too just came out of a 4 month funk in which I let pretty much everything in my life go on hold. It was debilitating because I am too old to bounce back from these poles so easily. I am trying to see the flat or low side as a recharging of batteries and a rest. The fields need to be fallow to be refreshed. The goddess gives us nothing we can’t handle. We move two steps forward and three back sometimes. Get out your anger, it causes depression when it turns inward. You’ll get to the other side. love

  4. Sorry to hear about the ticket. I can’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve been in this situation. Regarding the point of no return – I’m reminded of this scene from the movie Gattaca – http://youtu.be/IYZ_77qxRr0. It has inspired me during my “down” times. The other side is close my friend. Swim on. Don’t give up.

  5. I love your work.

    Clearly, your current psychological state helps you make your art.

    Keep working. The work will cycle you out of the dark.

    Yours,
    Tea

  6. I am going to throw the quote on the April calendar page back at you:

    “Success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacle which he has overcome. ”

    You have the capacity for great things, Warren, and your art is proof of that.

  7. Honestly, I don’t think that your quotes always have to be “positive”. I think that if we are not willing to face the darker sides of life, things like loneliness, regret, and helplessness then we are being dishonest and escapist. Our art can help us to face the challenges more-so when we are honest about our broken human condition then when we try to sugar-coat the human condition through our art. Sugar-coated, escapist art will only bring us back with more despair, and a greater desire to escape, a greater sense that life is not fair, not worth living (And our inner loneliness, regret, and helplessness will still remain, unconsoled).

    To say that sometimes there are points of no return I think is really very mature.

  8. Just look at that face looking up, the one you drew out of the muck. That is as real as the other.

  9. What you focus on grows….you sound just about ready to make a shift…I know this sounds really cliche but it sounds like you need to rip that band aid off and start to focus on your positives…..You are smart,(we can see this in your posts), you are talented,(we can see this in you art) and you are aware of yourself (many are not) and you are willing to learn and change. Focus on the good, work with the negative and address the issues that seem to be pulling you down. Sending you good vibes!

  10. I’m kind of weary of peoples who are always cheerful and positive, ups and downs are more of a normal situation to me…the only thing I don’t want is a long row of downs and further downs …

  11. two thoughts: 1 Seasons change and winter WILL give way to spring. 2 Physically working off anger by walking/running/training works for me!
    Keep up your amazing work, keep putting one foot in front of the other.

  12. when I am depressed I try to excercise. easier said than done, for sure, but it really seems to help. I also try to help others. It gets my mind off my own troubles. Hang inthere!!

  13. i don’t know that i can add much more wisdom to this thread but to echo the encouragement to stay the course. change is constant and sometimes the shift between the positive and negative spectrums are more extreme but they *will* shift again. trust.

FEED BAG

 
