maze-ing maze 283


“I believe the children are the future.  Teach them well and let them lead the way!” Whitney Houston

maze-ing maze 283

Maze 283:  I guess I’m late to the show because I don’t watch the news (too negative)  but I just caught up on the murdered teen in Florida.  Nevermind the racial issues as much as the fact that the state is taking the stance that its okay to murder kids if you feel threatened.  Here in Colorado its been okay for the cops to hurt and murder kids and its been going on for decades by the cops.  But the fact that citizens can get away with it scares me. 

Today I shared with my older two boys the reality of life being a young Black male.  As depressing as the conversation was I shared several of the b.s. that they should be prepared for.  This entire situation is fucked up.  Our society has become so sick and twisted.  Is the answer to our lack of parenting, murder?  For the most part it seems that we parents aren’t teaching the kids to  become adults much less to respect others and now are solution is murder? I don’t like where this is going, but I know  it can’t be good.

~ by mazemangriot on March 30, 2012.

6 Responses to “maze-ing maze 283”

  1. how can i bye your lovely

  2. I’m with you. I worry about my youngest boy, not black ,but hair down to his waist and he has little respect for the law of the land or the state or country probably because he watches too much news. I pray he won’t come up against something he can’t handle on a regular basis.

    And video games have taught him and his friends that guns are awesome. Too many people I know feel the same way.

  3. I am in design school with many people much younger than myself. The gaming culture makes war seems cool. It is if it is a game. I think a lot of PTSD comes from that sudden reality check our young men and women receive in battle. We have this conversation a lot at school.

    I am a older white woman, and am appalled by the way the Florida case has been handled, primarily because of the simple fact that they have not arrested the man who committed this crime. However …

    Honestly, every time I see any youth with a hoody on, with the hood up I get nervous. It is associated with violence. It is associated with intent to do violence. I get really nervous when it is 110 degrees and these guys, black white, purple or green are walking around with the damned hood up. Are you serious?

    I think you are right, Hilary, society is heading for an implosion.

  4. Yes, such a tragedy. My heart goes out to the family of the boy and to all parents who have to face this unfortunate reality.

  5. I agree and that’s why we need to turn the beat around,

  6. this is a real dilemma, i mean when there is so much going on around you, it allows you to form a unreal belief of what is and is not okay for you to do in real life
    i don’t know what the best solution is but there is such an increase in violence its mega scary! i don’t know why it is becoming so much more common, but it worries me beyond belief
    i prey you and your family remain safe and sound 🙂

FEED BAG

 
