Maze-ing Maze 245


Maze-ing Maze 245

"We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them." Albert Einstein

Maze 245:  I chose this quote because my fight to get back on track by doing the maze early in the day continues.  Finishing mazes 20 and 30 minutes before deadline is taking a toll on the fun I usually have drawing them.  But I’m really beginning to appreciate the look and feel of the mazes that are deadline influenced.  For the uniqueness sake of the project I might have to push the deadline another dozen mazes or so to help push the envelope a bit.

I tried to freehand this one to see how straight I could draw it.  I could have done better but I like how it came out given the time.

~ by mazemangriot on February 21, 2012.

10 Responses to “Maze-ing Maze 245”

  1. I like the free-hand approach. Sirely your elephant header was done freehand? Trusting the freehand version is a sign of confidence, to me, and allows for more personality to show through in your marks. Many can make straight lines with a ruler, but only you can make your own unruled line. Somewhere it is written that nature abhors a vacuum…and I believe somewhere else it says that nature also doesn’t like a straight line. But you may be an engineer who is really bothered by things not perfectly square?

    • Not an engineer, I think that the strong straight lines help enhance the illusions and depth so thats why I usually do that for the borders for the abstract mazes. The animals are all freehand.

  2. I am loving your mazes. They are truly art, very unique & intricate. I have recommended your blog to my friends who enjoy mazes & sketch art.

    Keep up the good work!

  3. Another beautiful maze!

  4. Great job, as always. If I could put this much “freehand” thinking into my writing, I’d be doing SO well.
    Also love the quote… great reminder!!

  5. one of the things I like about the ones done with the straight edge is that it serves as a counter point to the organic quality of the maze it self.

    Liked the quote, I had never seen it before.

  6. I kind of like the freehand. It gives it a genuine feeling. You can tell an artist did it.

  7. Wow! This is fun!

  8. I’m amazed (really, no pun intended … plus you’ve probably heard it) that you can get one of these done in a day. I’m happy to get a haiku a day done. I’m going to show your site to my younger boy. He used to create mazes himself, and I’m sure he’d love and be inspired by yours. I just don’t want him making them when he should be doing schoolwork, like he used to do. 😉

  9. From someone who commits to stressful situations and than asks “why did I do this Lord” I say keep up the good work!
    We love you!

FEED BAG

 
