Maze-ing Maze 237


Maze-ing Maze 237

"One isn't necessarily born with courage, but one is born with potential. Without courage, we cannot practice any other virtue with consistency. We can't be kind, true, merciful, generous, or honest." Maya Angelou

maze 237: Since doing this project on a daily basis I realize how much that maze making has kept me afloat in the drowning tides of life.  The past seven months has been the worst time of my life.  Many times I’ve felt like just throwing up my hands and giving up and its been my committment to making a daily maze that has really helped save me. 

Many days when life was stressful and hard to deal with I made my way to the sketchbook to fulfill my goal and free my soul.  Instead of letting the bumps leave me depressed I find peace, a solution in creating a problem.  I didn’t realize but by starting the project I created a “life raft” that I can use at any time to help me deal.

How has it really helped me?  I can honestly say that on a few occasions this past few months I have decided to give up and just say screw it all.  And each time I end up rushing home to finish my maze instead of whatever destructive activity I had planned to participate in.   All this has helped me to feel like life is great even in the face of so many bad things that have happened.  

~ by mazemangriot on February 13, 2012.

13 Responses to “Maze-ing Maze 237”

  1. Good for you, you Mazy guy, to keep on keeping on. This is what makes the difference, and the good trails you are blazing, as you go back to your maze and your peace and balanced place, will become easier to find as they become more well-worn and famiiar.

    I think you said you have a son? I can see him benefitting from this as he sees you stick to your plan. You are his model, and in this, you are making a blueprint for him when his days are tough.

    I really admire you!

  2. Great one! Both the maze and the clearing of mind. It goes to show that things which transcend in time, go beyond the daily things. Sometimes it’s just ideas to keep us busy, sometimes is greater ones that we give a meaning to or give us a meaning. But it keeps us afloat.
    Keep on going! I like the quotes and the drawings.

  3. I’m glad that your mazes have helped pull you through. I hope your mazes serve as comfort and motivation for you for a long time to come, and I hope things improve for you very soon. 🙂

  4. If you are finding your mazes keep you afloat, keep right on doing them. I find them amazing, and I also like the quotes you find. In fact, I have saved several. Have a very good and happy day. That’s within your power.

  5. I cannot tell you how much I look forward to seeing your new maze everyday. It is often the first email I open. I was telling one of the students at school about it, and he was blown away.

    You got involved with something that has personal meaning for you and created a widening circle. Like a pebble thrown into a pond. Your contribution to us has been significant, but your contribution to yourself, and your sons is huge.

    I am grateful I stumbled on your project.

  6. And the mazes have taken a wonderful turn in design, I can’t put my finger on it, but the past fifteen or twenty have been really nice.

  7. For me-Art is and has always been the only escape from the ever-changing, very gloomy at times, waves of everyday life. I feel hopeful and at peace with myself when I create. Someone once said:” Artists are only happy when they create.” So true!

  8. I hear you…thanks for sharing and your honesty…I so appreciate your creativity…what an endeavor…and there is purpose…be true to you

  9. Art is certainly an escape! Relaxation, meditation, the list goes on!

  10. Great and true quote by Maya Angelou. Thanks, Jay
    Happy Valentine’s Day To You and Yours!

  11. I absolutely love this maze, quote and your post/comments. Over a year ago, I wrote a blog post called something like “the practice” which was inspired by the interview at the end of Natalie Goldberg’s “Writing Down the Bones” (I noticed you have referenced her in at least one of your recent quotes…I’m assuming you’ve read the book, but if not GO OUT AND GET IT IMMEDIATELY). This idea of “the practice,” whatever our heart chooses it to be, resonates with me so much. It is our work, what calls us…and even though answering the call sometimes feels like a struggle, it’s where God/Life/Truth/Art…however we may define it or even not define it…it’s where it shows up. It’s how we get out of our own way, our life raft as you have so perfectly said. I am an actor, but find this solace also in writing. It’s so easy to go to the old destructive habits, but I believe God/It/Life/Art (again whatever one wishes to call it) works in Truth…the simplicity of just showing up, the courage of the warrior to be open and vulnerable and present to that which is. Thanks for this post and re-reminder.

  12. Also I just want to add, after reading other comments…and I think this is what you are saying (?)…but I don’t think Art is the escape…I think it is the extremely courageous diving straight in. Kudos to you and all that brave the waters.

  13. Art has a way of keeping us sane. Keep creating!

FEED BAG

 
