Maze-ing Maze 232


Maze-ing Maze 232

"Stress is an ignorant state. It believes that everything is an emergency." Natalie Goldberg

Maze 232: Drained! Tonight was the first practice since I sent the email out.   One of the fathers approached me and explained that he had heard the comment and didn’t really pay it any mind until he saw the interracial player and then realized it.  Which I’m glad he told me because it makes me feel like I made the right decision. 

I had a long conversation tonight with the father of the other player.  It was very interesting to listen to his take on the situation.  He fully believes his sons explanation and doesn’t seem to see the b.s. in his story.  The boy just happens to use brownie for a player who just happens to be interracial.  We have played 20 games this season and face a kid or two with “brownie” like skills every game and I have yet to hear him refer to any of those kids who are white as brownies. 

So my approach was to listen and understand where he came from and then let him know what I hoped would happen.  He said he spoke to his son at great length about some American history, and why the comment was offensive.  So in my book my mission was accomplished.  I cannot change people’s perceptions but I think that my not letting go of it forced them and the families of the other players to discuss these issues. 

~ by mazemangriot on February 8, 2012.

7 Responses to “Maze-ing Maze 232”

  1. Mission accomplished! Well done. I wish all fathers were so sensitive to such issues and as careful and patient as you have been.

  2. Kudos to you. Letting him speak uninterrupted allowed him to fully hear the B.S he was trying give you. Thanks for your willingness to do what should be done and settling for what it is.

  3. You got your point across, and when I looked at the maze I was not surprised to see it’s design reflected what is going on.

    I think you did a remarkable thing. You managed to bring parents together to talk about what can be a sensitive and sometimes explosive issue. Those people turned around and educated their children. It makes me smile.

    Good communication is the key to most of our successes in the world.

  4. The 3-D faceted effect works well with your mazes. Good job.

  5. Great ending to this saga!

    ~Erica

  6. Each post you do is simply A-MAZ-ING! I felt compelled to nominate you for the Kreativ Blogger Award as a way to express my appreciation for your creations. http://akissofbliss.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/praise/ 🙂

  7. courage is standing up to bullies … and that’s what we call people who denigrate others with labels. thanks for setting such a strong example!

FEED BAG

 
