Maze-ing Maze 204


Maze-ing 204

"I don't want nobody to give me nothing, just open the door I'll get it myself." James Brown

Maze 204:  I chose todays quote because of all the feedback from my family, friends and comments here.  After being disappointed by getting rejected from the festival I shared with many people the situation and everyone basically said who cares your art is good and you don’t need the show.  For awhile there I was angry because people were calling a goal that I set for myself stupid.

After sleeping on the feedback I realize that everyone was right about it and to not let it slow me down.  Which I have to admit had an effect on todays maze.  By setting that I goal I set myself up for failure because I have no control over who they pick.  Short of applying to the festival I had no way of making them choose me.

So moving forward I have to make sure that the goals I set I can control what happens or at least acknowledge that I don’t have control and prepare accordingly.  I also need to have more coals in the fire so rejection doesn’t slow me down.

Part 2:  I had to add this because of my wonderful afternoon.  A friend of mine works for a company that just moved.  They liked my work and wanted to let me showcase my work.  So after an hour-long meeting they commissioned me to redo a logo, bought a piece, and let me go wild with space for 11 of my works that I can sell.  So the afternoon turned out great.

~ by mazemangriot on January 11, 2012.

17 Responses to “Maze-ing Maze 204”

  1. AWESOME!! Your lump of coal turned into a diamond. 🙂

  2. You know, when I am rejected or just upset about something that didn’t happen because I thought it might . . . I yell at the universe through friends I know. They sometimes just listen or even tell me things about how I shouldn’t be upset like yours did. But what always happens regardless is that something else happens to cheer me just because I yelled. It is so cool to know that other things are planned for me!!

  3. You never know if a chance you take will come through or not unless you try…don’t focus on the fact if it doesn’t come through but focus on the fact that you put yourself out there and tried! It’s one step closer to making things happen! Congrats on the work you did get! Great job!

  4. It’s great to hear you had a dynamite day today after a bummer day yesterday. I don’t think you realize what an inspiration you are to those of us, like you, that have goals whose results are yet to be seen. You have to hang in there and believe in yourself. If you fall, brush yourself off and get up and try again. There is a whole world out there, and one contest should not define who you are. Ditto for me or anyone else that has dreams. Remember, it ain’t over ’til the fat lady sings. How many times was it that Edison failed before he succeeded?…Hmmm, could there be a lesson in his failures? Your work is wonderful, never doubt it. Congrats on your sales today.

  5. I’ve found there are times in life when its necessary to make one’s own luck. Maybe this was one of those times.

    Forge on; and Live life … its good 4ya!!

  6. Wow your part 2 is wonderful! Congratulations!

  7. congrats on the sale! it’s a great sign for the year ahead!! thanks for your uplifting art.

  8. You ARE an inspiration to all of us. Doors shut and doors open. Congrats!!

  9. Just meeting you, but this is lovely. I look forward to more of your work and your journey.

    Brilliant stuff on both counts!

    Remember Thomas Edison’s words: “If we all did the things we are really capable of doing, we would literally astound ourselves…”

  10. Great quote!

  11. Good lessons. Lessons I’ve been learning myself as well.

  12. Just think – one door closed and another door opened. Had you been involved with the festival you may not have had time for this new venture.
    It is always darkest before the light.
    Congratulations – may you have overwhelming sales.
    Namaste,
    Isadora

  13. Your goal wasn’t stupid. It’s just that when limited space and other people’s opinions are involved, many wonderful things get tossed aside. Your art is very unique and just plain fabulous! Keep up the good work and please continue delighting us all with your creative mazes.

  14. Glad to hear your disappointment turned around in the end! It’s all how you look at it I suppose…

  15. Excellent quote and great idea for a blog! Thanks so much for your virtual visit to mine!

  16. […] Maze-ing Maze 204 (mazeaday.wordpress.com) […]

  17. […] Maze-ing Maze 204 (mazeaday.wordpress.com) […]

FEED BAG

 
