maze-ing maze 198


Maze-ing 198

“There are two kinds of people, those who finish what they start and so on” Robert Byrne

Maze 198: Along with yesterdays maze I finished making two childresns books.  I cannot believe how lazy I’ve been.  I made one of these books about three years ago and the second one a year ago and took only two hours to make both.  Here’s a link https://mazeaday.wordpress.com/writings/?preview=true&preview_id=108&preview_nonce=d3abd7cb58 to the first one I illustrated myself.  This was a big step for me in becoming an artist I drew it about 3 years ago and never had the courage to share this outside of my family.

Its kinds funny to see how bad I am at drawing outside of mazes.  I know the books are not publishing material, but regardless of the look of the art, I can now show the kids my stories at  .  After reading it to my boys last night for bedtime and they clapped at the end which made me happy.  The book is called The Trees, Those Scary Trees. And is inspired by my middle son who pointed out a scary tree during a walk one day.

By the way the way I finished two more letters yesterday so I’ve almost knocked out the alphabet.

~ by mazemangriot on January 5, 2012.

21 Responses to “maze-ing maze 198”

  1. […] to maze a day for this quote that made me giggle, and another cool […]

  2. Cheers for the support man! I didnt even know Mazes were a thing until now – they look good. Keep practicing and wait for your chance to grab success by the balls 🙂

  3. I know the feeling of creating a work, only to have it sit back and collect dust before sharing with others. I finally got a children’s book published that I wrote almost 25 years ago. At that time, my own children were small and I was a single mother, working full time, so time was an enemy. I also lacked the courage to dare think that I could complete with ‘published’ authors. So I set my manuscript aside for a few years while I took care of other business. While packing to move, I came across the manuscript several years later and reread it. Wow! I thought, why haven’t I published this book yet? So I dallied for a couple of more years, working on illustrations to accompany the manuscript. I looked at how other children’s books were illustrated and decided that a few full color pages and then spot drawings would work well with my story. The original book I attempted to publish sported hand drawn illustrations. Since I am not as good an artist as I’d like to be, I had trouble keeping my main character,Jack, at a set age from drawing to drawing. Then, last year I was introduced to Corel, a computer drawing program, and in my effort to learn how to use the program, used my book as subject matter for my self-taught lessons. Alas, a book I felt worthy of publishing was born. At this point, I could almost write a book on “How Orples Came To Be” (the title of the book I am speaking of) came to be. The process was an adventure. I have come to the conclusion that things will happen in their own time, when they are meant to unfold. In the meantime, I just want to say that I love your newest maze. Keep on keeping on. You are doing a great job!

  4. Great post for the new year… and thanks for dropping by my blog too!

  5. You have become an unstoppable force!!

  6. These are great! I can’t wait to sit down at a proper computer (rather than on a phone) so I can look at your The Trees, Those Scary Trees book. I love trees! Lol

  7. Love the whole concept of a maze a day! (Also, I LOVE the quote you chose for this one. Hee.) Mazes are so much fun. My husband made one for my birthday a while back: http://satsumabug.com/2011/12/15/erik-is-the-coolest/

  8. Fabulous maze, and wonderful quote! Such a fascinating project.

  9. Wonderful mazes

  10. This is sick! Love all the different mazes and how they encompass simple concepts (ie- letters). Very eclectic idea!

  11. looking forward to seeing more

  12. I feel I have to comment. These images and stories are FANTASTIC! I think that these stories and mazes combined as one childrens book would be a great idea! I do not think that there is such a thing as an illustrated childrens book where the pictures are mazes. That would entertain the reader TWICE. I also admire your determination. Keep it up. Looks like you’re doing fine with your followers engaged.

    • Why not an alphabet book? Oblivion is right — this is the book! Make an alphabet maze book and it will sell like flapjacks. Or Hotcakes. Or pancakes. Those things have a lot of names now that i think about it…

  13. Interesting concept for a blog. How long does it take you to draw the mazes?

  14. Congratulations! Finishing is huge! That is true success–regardless of how long it took you. I’m on my way to go check it out . . .

  15. What an awesome idea!

  16. What a wonderfully meditative and creative task you’ve set yourself. I love these mazes.

    I will show them to my daughter. She’s only 6, but she likes to draw mazes for me so that I find my way out, or have me draw them for her. But ours are, obviously, not even remotely of the beauty of yours.

  17. This blog is completely amazing. I am so glad I came across it. Brilliant. I have no doubt I will spend hours browsing it. As a fellow blogger and journalist I would love to ask you more questions about this very unique endeavor for curiosity’s sake.

  18. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Your site is amazing. Did you draw all the mazes by hand or do you have a computer program to help you? Such intricate work and beautiful too!

FEED BAG

 
