Maze a day 173


Maze a day 173

“Continuous effort - not strength or intelligence - is the key to unlocking our potential.” -Liane Cordes

Maze 173:  I chose todays quote because of my sons hockey game today.  They played against a team that were miles behind them in skill. When the other team took a 3-0 lead I almost had to leave the game.  Not only were we getting beat but we were getting dominated. 

The majority of our players were not really trying and played as though they have never played before.  Many of the parents were angry and I could see especially with my son that the kids that were trying were angry. 

I bring this up because at the end of the game some parents were telling the kids that it was a good game.  Bold face lie that I’m sure the kids didn’t even believe.  But the problem I have is that although they are out there to have fun first there is nothing wrong with honesty. This is competitive hockey for 9-10 year olds and kids have to tryout to be on the team.  So why sugar coat a horrible performance especially when kids were clearly not trying?

I gave my son a handshake for his effort but didn’t insult his intelligence by lying about the performance of the total team.  I think that this is a common problem in America especially with the youth.  Society has started to sugar coat too many things for kids and then when the kids truly have to compete in real life (jobs for instance) they are ill prepared. 

In life everyone losses more than they win and if adults are not prepared for that how can they expect to succeed when it really matters for their survival?  I don’t know just thoughts.  By the way my son challenged himself to get better after the anger of seeing the team’s performance. 

~ by mazemangriot on December 11, 2011.

One Response to “Maze a day 173”

  1. You hit the nail on the head. I attend a for profit art and technical college in Sacramento CA. This is for people 18 years and older. The majority of them think this is an extension of high school: they don’t show up for class, don’t turn in assignments, spend class time on Facebook, or on their iPhones. $150 a class . . . that they will have to pay back. There is no sense of responsibility, no understanding of consequences. Schools are not responsible for a child’s value system, parents are. I had great parents, they were generous, but I have always understood about hard work and the rewards that come with it. Good for you for having respect for your sons intelligence, and giving him the benefit of learning from defeat. Most of the time we don’t learn Jack Sh__ from winning. Good job Dad!

FEED BAG

 
