Maze a Day 166


Maze a day 166

“It is better to fail in originality than to succeed in imitation.” Herman Mellville
Maze 166:  I chose this quote because the day before I was I was trying to imitate a method I learned from Escher.  So I decided to try it again with my own spin and more of a maze.  I think that in art and many areas of creativity that Mellville is correct to a certain extent. 
 
I have tried to imitate Escher’s work with perception and change in my work many times.  But I believe it was my attempts to copy some of his methods that has enabled me to begin to create my own style of work.  
 
I feel its in our quest to get better and try new things that imitation helps us with ideas that spark originality.  Those artists that strive to get better can thrive under imitation.  At the same time we have to be very careful of not getting caught up in the copying of methods.  It’s up to us to remember to learn and take what we can but then let go of the imitating process to continue to grow.
 

~ by mazemangriot on December 5, 2011.

FEED BAG

 
