maze a day 158


 

"Progress always involves risks. You can't steal second base and keep your foot on first. "Fredrick B. Wilcox

Maze a day 158

Maze 158 This was my first time drawing on a canvas.  Although it was bumpy and hard not to smear.  I like how the maze ended up.  I got two of these last Christmas and just now had the courage to try one out.  I made a few errors that I couldn’t fix but overall I’m satisfied with my first attempt.

 

~ by mazemangriot on November 26, 2011.

23 Responses to “maze a day 158”

  1. It worked out well. I can imagine that would be hard to not smear. Was the canvas gessoed? A coat or two would help with the bumpiness. I really like the set up of this maze. Visually, it’s very appealing.

    • Thanks! I don’t know what gessoed is? It wasn’t smooth like paper and the majority of my markers didn’t “fill in” the spots. I found one marker that really worked well on it. So if I continue to use canvas then I may have to switch pen makers!!!

  2. The canvas is probably gessoed with a coat or so. – Generally, pre-stretched canvases are treated with gesso. Another way to tell is deciding whether the canvas is a “tan” or a “white” shade. Tan=Naked canvas. White=Gessoed canvas.
    thepurpledogpaintingblog is definitely right, with everything mentioned. It worked out perfectly and it is visually appealing, very precise and clean; I really enjoy it! However, if you do decide to gesso your canvases [more] make sure to experiment with how many layers, too much gesso may “grab” at your pen/marker. This will be annoying, ugly, and a ruiner of perfectly good markers!

    As always, love the quote too; thanks for sharing everyday!

  3. Yup, gesso is a layer on a canvas. Gesso is basically a chalky paint layer that allows paint to adhere to the canvas or wood or whatever you’re working on. You can put on several coats and sand them until they’re really smooth for bumpy surfaces. Or you can tint it for a colored background.
    Makena is right too, I’ve used gesso and acrylics under pen and markers and they do tend to wreck your markers and pens since they’re both quite chalky. (they can kill brushes pretty fast as well) I pretty much only use markers or pens that are at the end of their lifespan for use on canvases or on top of paints. I found too that pencil doesn’t tend to erase well on either surface either.

    • I never thought of sanding it down before! Great idea.
      & good point mentioning to use the “almost dead markers”!
      Also, for the erasing. It doesn’t work very well but if you go in multiple directions [or a circular motion] over the area you want to erase, it generally comes up pretty good.

  4. Great discussion on gesso. I’m still seeking the easiest way to attain a smooth surface for painting / drawing / markers. To my recent surprise, i accidently learned that gesso-ing over markers starts to dissolve the marker color (although sharpies are probably more robust).

    As for drawing mazes, another artist recently shared a great tip with me. She uses little “oil bottles” with diluted acrylic paint to draw acrylic on canvas and gets very smooth lines. The little bottles are sold in art stores like Daniel Smith–they’re the ones with the long thin straight spouts and fat bodies. Hope this helps!

  5. much gratitude great creativity

  6. Love the art love the inspirational quote! Thanks for adding a little light to my day.

  7. Love this – love the maze, love the concept, love the quotation… Thank you, my year is already enriched!

  8. Cool maze, I like the perspective on this one

  9. Amazing work! How can you possibly do a maze a day with that much detail? Terrific! I’ll share it on FB.

  10. Your mazes remind me of mandalas. I suspect that they are not only a creative, but also a spiritual experience for you as you work through them. They are truly works of art.

  11. You have major talent! Love looking at your work. I’m hoping you fulfill your dreams of writing a children’s book. Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a Like 😀

    Leslie

  12. Great quote… I like that… Have a Blessed Day our friend… Danny & Laura

  13. I love your post especially your drawing

  14. Your work is amazing and looks like the path from who I am to who I want to be…

  15. I imagine drawing mazes, like walking them, is a form of meditation too, eh?

  16. beautiful artwork

  17. Thank You for following me and not giving up on your passion! God Bless you and yours!

  18. Wow! btw thanks for visiting my blog and liking it

  19. NICE MIND EXERCISES

FEED BAG

 
