No more working for free Maze a day 103


Maze a day 103

“You’ve got to ask! Asking is, in my opinion, the world’s most powerful and neglected secret to success and happiness.” Percy Ross

Maze 103: Writers block today so I thought I would discuss the business side of art.  I think the hardest part of being an artist is the business side and making a living. at it.  When someone asks for your work or wants your services in the beginning to judge what your talents are worth and then communicating it to the interested party.  Too many artists myself included routinely sell themselves short because of the fear of losing the sale.  This project is helping me to gain the confidence to ask what I’m worth.

~ by mazemangriot on October 1, 2011.

6 Responses to “No more working for free Maze a day 103”

  1. le artiste boots reblogged this on LE ARTISTE BOOTS and commented: This says what I have been thinking.

  2. My fear is that I will in some way disappoint the customer, or client. that I won’t be what they thought I was. We tend to have unrealistic expectations of what we expect from others. I also fear not hitting deadlines. I really dislike them, which is not good for an illustrator and graphic designer.

    You are proving every day that you have what it takes: talent, drive and authenticity. BTW. The mazes are coming through larger in my email, which I really like (old eyes). I can actually trace the paths in them visually now.😉

    • I could only imagine how hard it would be in your industry. I’m glad my work is already done when I’m in the sales process. Im glad that the email works better for you. Take care.

  3. Terrific review! This is exactly the type of post that should be shared around the web. Shame on the Google for not ranking this blog post higher!

  4. I agree with this. Too often we (and others) don’t value what we produce. And in this market, it’s harder than ever. I’m a photographer, and with DSLRs every where, everyone thinks they can do what a pro does. And my mind doesn’t work well the business side. I want to just take photos.

    So glad you have this blog, and it’s helping you with your vision and confidence. You are amazing; I cannot comprehend a mind that can come up with such wonderful mazes. Real admiration here.🙂

    I started my blog 3 1/2 weeks ago, and it is a real confidence booster for just following my own vision in my photography. Take care and best of luck!

FEED BAG

 
