Heroes are everywhere in ourlives! Maze 65


Maze 65

"A hero is an ordinary individual who finds the strength to persevere and endure in spite of overwhelming obstacles." Christopher Reeve

As a father of three boys I try my hardest to teach them, give them the opportunities they
deserve and love them with all my heart. When I worked in the corporate world I really hated life.  It wasn’t until I started my own business that I really began to enjoy life on a
daily basis.  I have taught them how to start and run their own business (trash removal
service) as well as the “sales” side of approaching potential customers to solicit their services.

Since I run my business from home I have had the honor and pleasure of being able to be
their for them more than if I worked at an office.  This has given me the opportunity to
help them shine through and go after their goals.  In the summer we spend two hours a day at the park practicing their sports and having fun.  During the hottest part of the day for two
hours I have them reading and practicing math and geography. And although the first summer we did it they hated me, they have loved it when they get back to school and excel.

No matter what we end up doing my goal is to give them great memories of me and their
childhood and never doubt that I love them. I remember when we brought my first son home my wife and I looked at each other and said “what now?” With no manuals it’s all up to the
parent to choose and decide how to raise their kids.

With that I have great news! I believe wholeheartedly in heroes and the inspiration they provide.  I once saw a story of a man who instantly became a hero for me.  A daddy hero if you will. Dick Hoyt a man who runs marathons and triathlons with his son. The kicker is his son has cerebral palsy and cannot move anything but his neck. http://www.teamhoyt.com/
They competes with Dick  pushing/carrying his son during the races. He did this all to make his son’s life better and more fulfilling.  When I saw this it made me realize that I to could give only a make a positive impact on my boys’ lives with just a fraction of the effort he gives in one of his races.  So I have used his life as inspiration in raising my children.

The good news is that I’ve been granted an interview with Mr. Hoyt for the purpose of this
blog. I felt that his inspirational story would be a great way showcase “finding away” and
inspire us all who follow the maze a day project. I will be sharing bits and pieces of this
with you in September over a few different posts.

~ by mazemangriot on August 24, 2011.

3 Responses to “Heroes are everywhere in ourlives! Maze 65”

  1. I cannot wait! I have seen his story and am excited to hear what he has to say and especially excited for you. Way to go!

    • Thanks, I figure most people are going to get tired of me talking!!! No actually I thought it would be cool to use the blog to interview others who have “found the way” to achieving their goals and dreams.

  2. Congrats! I can’t wait to hear more.

FEED BAG

 
