This is still a lot of fun! Maze 51


Maze 51

"Motivation will almost always beat mere talent." Norman R. Augustine

It’s strange how life works and what seems to motivate me into action.  With art I can see a paperclip on the ground and get some idea for a maze.  Its pretty easy for me to pick up the pencil and start drawing.

Now writing, which is my first love comes at a price.  If life is going good and things are relatively drama free, I can barely complete a sentence.  It’s not until I have negative things going on that the motivation to write shines through.  And even when the words are flowing I cannot seem to find the pleasure in writing that I do in drawing.

When looking at the picture I wonder/getting the feeling that maybe its art that is my true calling vs writing.  How are you motivated when it comes to the things that you want to go after?

~ by mazemangriot on August 10, 2011.

3 Responses to “This is still a lot of fun! Maze 51”

  1. It is true that when we experience something that brings out our emotions the creative juices starts flowing. I too struggle at times with the inability to write one decent sentence. I find that connecting to music, Youtubes videos or writings that are uplifting sometimes motivates me to write. Very cool maze, by the way!

  2. Pain seems to bring out the best or worse in humans.

  3. First let me say that I love this maze. I love chess pieces, my father and I played until I finally won a game, then he wouldn’t play with me anymore. LOL, it is funny know, wasn’t then.

    Art is not my first passion, Gardening is. It is the biggest distraction from everything else in my life. For me. the only way I get over the hump of not starting a project, or procrastination is to remind myself that I am the only person who is responsible and to get on with it. Then I rely on some little creative tricks I found in a book called “Thinkertoys” by Michael Michalko. Full of ideas, tools and techniques for generating ideas and moving beyond blocks. I recommend it highly. That and taking a walk.

FEED BAG

 
