Maze 48


"Getting older is no problem. You just have to live long enough". Groucho Marx

Maze 48

I apologize for my lack of photography skills.  This is one of my wooden pieces and I couldn’t get the full picture without losing all the detail.

It’s strange to me the feelings I get when I think about age.  I love and appreciate every moment I have getting older (exception being healing time from sports).   I look forward to having the opportunity to grow old.

The difficult or fearful feelings  I have towards age is the mental aspect of it. I feel this the most when visiting family members that are hitting their twilight years and losing their wits. Family that was once so strong and full of life that now seem to be absently present.

I visited a family member yesterday and it hurt me to see what she is going through.  To this day she is one of the strongest, sharpest, hard working  people I ever known.  Unfortunately her mind isn’t as strong as it used to be and her memory is fading.  It scares me because there is nothing I can do but watch.

I’ve experienced similar situations with other family members and just hope and pray that my getting old doesn’t include mental issues.  Yesterday’s visit was definitely an eye opener and showed me that I need to appreciate my relationships with my loved ones more.  I need to treat each moment that I get to spend with them as though it could be the last.  Not as though they are going to die, but instead celebrate the moment, the conversation, the experience.

~ by mazemangriot on August 7, 2011.

FEED BAG

 
