Sharing is great Maze 38


Maze 38

"What me worry!" Alfred E.Newman

Since starting this project a few people have asked am I scared of sharing my work and having someone steal it.  My answer is always no.  I guess the possibility exists but it’s not a fear that I have.  I wasn’t the inventor of the maze and a lot of my influence comes from M.C. Escher.  So to a certain extent I am a thief.

When I’ve  had shows handfuls of people have  showed up and seen my work they may have stolen it with a camera phone but I was honored to be sharing a piece of my soul with them.   A feeling I wouldn’t have gotten if I was scared to share my work.  Plus as much as I love and feel confident in the quality of my art I just don’t have that big a head to believe that it’s all that for someone to steal.  Maybe one day I will be big enough to have my work worthy of theft.

Plus I like to approach my work like the music industry in believing that your only as good as your last hit.  If someone steals and uses one of my mazes where does that get them?  Maybe it will open up opportunities but I see the bigger picture it’s just 1 of many to come and by sharing on the net 100’s are beginning to see my work and style.

~ by mazemangriot on July 28, 2011.

5 Responses to “Sharing is great Maze 38”

  1. These are superb!!! Fantastic that you’ve kept to your goal too – well done!

  2. Thank you for sharing your work. Your blog and artwork have been an unexpected delight in my life and have made me think about subjects I only gave a ‘passing’ thought to before. I don’t think we know the true impact of anything we do. Even the great masters were often just doing their jobs. Thieves. Well, if someone needs something so badly that they need to take it without permission, then they can have it. Their Karma.

  3. Yeah, that’s the tietck, sir or ma’am

  4. That’s a smart answer to a tricky question

  5. That’s a slick answer to a challenging question

FEED BAG

 
