Maze 37


Maze 37

Gold cannot be pure, and people cannot be perfect. ~Chinese Proverb

I chose this quote because of this maze.  I actually thought I measured it out to perfection only to realize after scanning it that it’s not all the same.  It was a mistake that at first look disappointed me but taught me a lesson in my process on how to improve for the next time.

Throughout this project and my creations of mazes I’ve learned that mistakes are going to come and usually often.  Overcoming those mistakes and appreciating those mistakes is what will allow me to continue to get better and create more unique works.

It makes me wonder in a world where we try so hard to be perfect, how many times mistakes is what actually helped us achieve the goals we set out to reach?

By the way I thought this was cool.  Yesterday someone did a google search for Hannibal’s elephants and my Dukellington elephant art piece came up.  I’m sure it was ranked low but that’s something I would have never imagined would happen.  The power of the internet.

 

~ by mazemangriot on July 27, 2011.

7 Responses to “Maze 37”

  1. I love Maze #37. I didn’t even notice the imperfection until you pointed it out, until that point it was just a wonderful piece of art.

    Are your Familiar with the TED talks? You can Google it. The subject matter is wide ranging, but recently there was one of the power of mistakes. Worth a Look-See.

    M

  2. did that person who found your art work end up buying it?

  3. you said someone found your painting on search?

    • Oh! Yea they were looking for Hannibals elephants. In my blog I can see keywords in the search that lead to my site and it was Hannibals elephants.

  4. Mistakes are a natural part of the learning process. They say experts are people who have made all the mistakes in their area of expertise. I know your intention was for it to be measured out perfectly, but at first glance I thought it was intentionally off to create a more abstract look. Keep up the good work.

  5. a maze ing..this one really catches my eye.

FEED BAG

 
