Maze 36


Maze 36

" I would rather excel in the knowledge of what is excellent, than in the extent of my power and possessions." Plutarch

I wanted to show you another piece that I did a while back (I still did a new maze yesterday!!)  It was a beginning for me and my comfort to make real  things into mazes.  I was very proud of this.

One day I came downstairs to find that my 2-year-old decided to make some minor adjustments.  He took a sharpie to it and covered the majority of it with his own lines.  Needless to say the maze didn’t work anymore.

My first reaction was anger in his destruction of my “possession” and how he could have done it.  But before I even screamed at him I realized the excellence it what he was trying to do.  He had watched me work at that maze for hours and felt that he to could create something like daddy.  Although frustrating it was a good experience in understanding the importance of people over possession.

However, since then he has been given his own art supplies and paper to work with so that it never happens again!

 

~ by mazemangriot on July 26, 2011.

6 Responses to “Maze 36”

  1. I’m really glad you have had that realisation. It shows you’re a good dad.

    I’ve had similar experiences with art projects and I’ve come to look forward to their ‘destructive contributions’! It’s all good!

    Whilst I think of it the one tip I’d offer is that you date all his pictures – whether on loose paper or in an art pad. It’s impossible to track how old they were when they created things otherwise!

    And thanks for liking my other blog posting.

    Regards

    Stephen

  2. One of the biggest lessons in the world is being clear on priorities. I know you are a wonderful parent. Love the maze. Love the story. 😉

  3. Wow, this piece is really beautiful. I love how intricate and amazing it is.

FEED BAG

 
