What will I do? Maze 32


Maze 32

"Until you value yourself, you will not value your time. Until you value your time, you will not do anything with it." M. Scott Peck

I  chose today’s quote because of my procrastination issues with another project I’m working on.  It’s a children’s book based on mazes that I’ve had in the works for years.   I just let deadline after deadline pass and see little to no progress towards its completion.

As you can see by the work of this project drawing the mazes is not the issue.   I’ve written the story designed the cover and created the mazes.  I’m basically stuck on drawing the characters.  The thing that gets me is that I’ve been stuck on drawing the characters for more than two years.

Being this close to completion for so long makes me wonder if I have a fear of success.  Not that my book would be a guaranteed hit but the success of finishing a major project that I start.  I have made many excuses from not being able to draw the people to not liking any of the sketches I’ve come up with.

This morning I’ve decided that enough time has been wasted on non action.  I’ve decided to put it all on the line and finish the project by September 1st or give it up completely.  As much as a September 1st date scares me I feel a sense of urgency that gives me hope.

~ by mazemangriot on July 22, 2011.

4 Responses to “What will I do? Maze 32”

  1. We tend to have lots of reasons to justify procrastination. Fear of success is but one of them. I wonder if you have selected the best market for your work. The images and quotes are appealing to an adult market as well. Or perhaps as a full-color booklet (expensive to produce) but it would be beautiful. Setting deadlines is a good strategy; then, you still have to follow through.

    • By adding some background illustrations like terrain that will fit the story would make it more kid friendly. But I can say after producing the amount I’m going to do I’m open to getting my work to anyone buying. Any advice is appreciated.

  2. Warren,

    Remember that book I recommended a while back, “Thinkertoys”? One of the things it helps with issues that lead to and stem from procrastination.

    I alway procrastinate when I am fearful I will make a wrong choice. Especially with important ones. When I am detached from the outcome I am fine. excited to see the book.

FEED BAG

 
