Maze 19


"Decide that you want it more than you are afraid of it." Bill Cosby

As you can see today I’ve shared a maze with color.  Since I started drawing mazes I’ve always done them in black and white.  I’ve honestly been afraid to add color for the fear of the finality of the stroke of the marker.  What if when I added color it doesn’t look good? That would mean I destroyed all my work simply because of a poor choice.

I can honestly say fear has not held me back too many times in my life.  Most of my jobs have been in the sales industry.  Not only one of the toughest professions but also a career that requires you to overcome and deal with your fears on an hourly basis depending on what your selling.

The best thing I’ve learned from my time as a salesman is how to rationalize.  How to “Decide that you want it more than you are afraid of it.”  If you’re not familiar with cold calling it’s where you go to a random business and ask for the person in charge and try to sell them.  This is very scary.  But I learned the first day of my first sales job to rationalize the things that could happen.  Worst case they ask me to leave, best case I walk out with a sale.  Which to me was always worth the risk of being asked to leave or hear their not interested.

~ by mazemangriot on July 9, 2011.

5 Responses to “Maze 19”

  1. I love the color. If you are scanning the pieces to post them, it is an easy thing to scan them for use in other programs. Bravo!

  2. I think the addition of colour is fantastic! It adds a whole new depth and dimension to the maze. Congratulations for trying it, but more importantly for overcoming the fear and posting it! If my very short experiences with blogging are any indication, your fears are the things that hold you back within the same patterns, and within the same networks. They stop you moving up and outwards in the world. The few times I have leapt across my fears, and posted something that my heart believed in, but my head doubted I have found myself connecting with a whole new world of people. And that is truly heartwarming. Congratulations again!

    • Thanks for mentioning it. Like I said I’ve had some major fears in regards to coloring the mazes. I will be creating many more the more comfortable I get. I’m sure I can use it to help add to the difficulty! Again thanks for the feedback.

  3. I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

FEED BAG

 
